Bliggity blog ya’ll

So, I decided to start a blog. I was mainly going to use it to log my training, and I’ve had a lot of people ask me about it, so I figured this would be the easiest way for everybody to keep up. This way I don’t have to tell you, you can just read this. I’ll probably end up talking about other stuff too, just so you don’t get too bored.

I have my training regimen schedule worked out pretty well.  I do CrossFit on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays and weights on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays.  I have muay thai on Mondays and Wednesdays, MMA class on Tuesdays and Saturdays, and Jiu Jitsu on Thursdays.  If you’re keeping track, that means today was CrossFit and muay thai.

Crossfit:

A)7×1 Jerk Pulls

B)5 rounds, 7 jerks, 105 single jump ropes

The first part of the workout is to build up to your max rep, over seven sets. Now, my shoulders aren’t in the best shape, so I ended up maxing out at 135. The second part of the workout is for time, so you’re supposed to go as fast as possible.  I ended up with a time of 11:24. You might think that’s not bad, but there were a few people under ten minutes.

I’ve never had to push myself physically as much as in CrossFit. The idea of getting the best time possible forces you to really push yourself. My recommendation is to try and find a MMA school that offers CrossFit. It’s different from regular CrossFit gyms in that someone will always be motivating you to keep going. To push yourself past what you think you can do. I’ve been to a regular CrossFit gym, and the trainers just let me do my own thing, at my own pace. I’m doing this more for endurance, to get my cardio up. It’s a lot different when someone is there to help push you past your limit.

After that, I had my muay thai class. Muay Thai is similar to kickboxing, except you can use your elbow and knees to strike as well. My training academy is having in house muay thai fights at the end of March. I’m considering competing, but I’m not totally sure yet. There are classes scheduled at the same time as my MMA classes, and I don’t want to miss those. We’ll see though.

Today we worked on some combinations from the clinch, some leg conditiong(AKA kicking each other), and ended it with some sparring. I feel somewhat at a disadvantage to some people in the class due to my MMA training. It’s a bit different when you’re thinking about how you can use strikes to set up a takedown, as opposed to not worrying about that at all and just striking. I’ll have to work on that mindset to separate the two classes.

I’ve been watching the TV show Dexter, and I think it’s a really good show. I don’t normally watch too much TV, but this show is awesome. If you’re thinking of checking it out, stop reading now. I just finished Season 3, and noticed quite a few changes. I still really liked it, but there were a few things I didn’t like. For starters, Dex kills two people that haven’t violated his code, but he doesn’t seem to feel any remorse whatsoever about it. I would think that someone as careful, and with OCD like he has, it would eat away at him. Jimmy Smits was awesome, I wish they hadn’t killed him off. They could have kept their partnership going for a little while longer. There were also a few too many relationship story lines. Batista, Deb, LaGuerta, Miguel Prado, and even Masuka had some kind of relationship storyline start up. Other than these couple of things, the show remains to be a ten. It really is amazing, and the writers for it are genius.

I think I’ve written enough for now. Keep in mind, this is my first blog, the following ones will probably be shorter. Thanks for taking the time to read my drivel. I feel like blogging is going to help me talk about, and express things that I wouldn’t otherwise. Any ways, until next time.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

