I should be working right now

But instead I’m updating my blog. I’m sure my boss would be happy about that…

I haven’t updated this the last few days, but I wasn’t able to make it to training on Monday. Tuesday I went in for an hour of yoga to help keep my back loose. It was feeling fine on Monday, but I didn’t want to chance re-injuring myself. I was feeling great after that, so I stayed for my MMA class. We had a new guy in the class, so we reviewed some techniques that we go over every class, cage takedowns, mount esacpes, etc. After that, we did some positional sparring from each other’s guard. I feel more confident in this aspect of my game, but still need quite a bit of work on it.

On Wednesday, I was able to make it both CrossFit and Muay Thai. The CrossFit workout was tiring, but more from reaching muscular failure than cardio wise. It had two parts to it, and both were for AMRAP(as many rounds as possible) in eight minutes time. The first part was 8 deadlifts, followed by 12 lateral burpees. I was able to get 3 full rounds, plus and extra eight deadlifts and ten burpees. I was using 185 pounds, just to err on the side of caution.

The second part of the workout was eight handstand push ups, followed by twelve chest to bar pull ups. I haven’t been able to pull off a full handstand push up yet, so I have to put my feet up on a box, and mimic the movement that way. I was able to get through 5 full rounds on this part. This was the round where I started to fail out. Towards the end, I wasn’t able to do many pull ups because my arms were failing out. It was tough to get them done after the deadlifts, and the push ups. I liked this workout a lot though, as it was like a full body workout, as opposed to some of the other ones that seem to focus on one or two body parts.

I hit up Muay Thai after my CrossFit workout. It is a little harder to get through a class right after CrossFit, but I don’t have much of a choice now that I have a day job. We did a lot of pad and combination work last night. It consisted mainly of one partner giving us different combinations to hit. I liked the class a lot, because it gave me the chance to work on combinations that I’m not used to. We also put in some work on knees, which I also liked. We don’t get to work on them that much, because we can’t really hit them in sparring, so it’s always good to get those worked in.

That’s it for today. I’m in the middle of watching Season 4 of Dexter, so I’ll let you know my thoughts when I’m done with that. Thanks for taking the time to check this out.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

