Don’t call it a comeback…

I’ve been here for years, just haven’t written anything in the same amount of time.

 

Not really sure what’s influencing me to return to blogging. I guess I feel I have a lot of things to say now that take up too much room for Facebook or Twitter, so I’ll be putting them here. I also feel like I’ve grown so much as a person over the last few years, but that’s for a different blog. I also tend to switch subjects, and go off on completely different tangents than the one I started on. Which brings me to today’s subject, quitting.

 

I’ve never fully understood the thought process behind quitting. At least when it comes to something you’re passionate about. I can honestly say that I’ve never taken on an endeavor of passion without seeing it all the way through.  It seems like most people in this day and age are ready to give up on whatever they started the second they ran in to adversity. That’s ridiculous to me. Why even get started if you’re just going to give up? I wonder if these people take in to account not only their own, but potentially other peoples’ time that has been wasted? When I started training for professional wrestling, I was 5’9, 265 lbs. I was told daily to quit, that I was too out of shape for it, that I would amount to nothing. Now, I may not have ever made a real living purely off of wrestling, I lost over 110 lbs in a year, and proved all of those people wrong. I’m sure that when I first started training in mixed martial arts there were people who thought I couldn’t do it. It took a lot of time, patience, and training, but I eventually started my fighting career. And it’s not like it’s been full of success. I may be 2-3-1, but my first question after every loss is, “when’s the next fight?” I’ve known many people who would have given up after the first one. The ego can be a fragile thing, but how bad do you really want something if you’re willing to give up that easily? Why aren’t you willing to put in the extra work it takes to get to where you want to be? It makes me think of a line from the song Ten Thousand Hours by Macklemore, “The greats weren’t great because they could paint at birth, the greats were great because they paint a lot”. Basically, if you want something, but find you’re not good at it at first, then it’s up to you to work hard to get good at it. Not just give up. 

 

Thanks for taking the time to read this. 

 

 

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

