Stay humble, my friends

yoda

A funny thing often happens to people when they get a taste of success, they get an inflated ego as well. Even if what they did is pretty pedestrian in the big scheme of things, we still get this inflated feeling of self worth, that we did something worth while. I’m not saying you shouldn’t be proud of things you do, but don’t let it get out of control.

I’ve never really been one to puff out my chest. Personally, I prefer to keep my head down, my mouth shut, and just working towards my goals. Obviously not everyone is like this. We all know someone who likes to point out how well they’re doing, how much they’re getting accomplished, how far ahead in life they are. But I see this as setting yourself up for future failures. I feel that if you keep building up minor accomplishments, then you’ll be satisfied with minor accomplishments. I think that if you want to achieve greatness, then you can only settle for great accomplishments.

Now, there will undoubtedly be a point where an out of control ego will get annoying. How do I deal with this? I either just ignore them, or I’ll let them know that their ego isn’t quite justified. Normally I’ll only ignore the people with what I call a “fake ego”, one built on things they’re probably making up. I feel this is the easiest thing to do with this type, as they’ll eventually get found out. Letting them know it’s not justified can be an entirely different thing all together. The ego is a sensitive thing, and it’s tough to do this without making someone butthurt. I’ll generally try and make some jokes to let them know this. That gets the point across a lot of the time, without having to possibly stress a relationship. Some people need a little more than that, and that’s when it can turn in to a sticky situation, but I’ve found that as long as you’re not returning their hubris, then you’ll be OK.

Moral of the story? Be proud in what you do, just don’t be a dick about it.

Thanks for reading.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

