Here’s the story of the first time I almost died on the road

I’ve been lucky enough to have been blessed with many opportunities during my wrestling career. This story takes place during one of my first ones, heading down to NWA Wildside in GA in 2002(I think). 

For those of you who don’t know(which will be many), NWA Wildside was run at this time by Bill Behrens. During this period Bill had the power of booking dark matches for TNA. Going to work for Bill was essentially like getting a try out to get a try out to be on TV. Needless to say, at that point in my career, it was a pretty big deal.

At the time, I was working for Kaiser Permanente, which meant I was working Monday through Friday. The show was on a Saturday, so my buddy and I had a genius idea to leave after I got off from work on Friday, and drive through the night and sleep in the car in Georgia. Seemed like a great idea, but little did we know how crappy the drive was about to be. If you’ve never driven to Cornelia, GA by way of I-85, there is literally nothing on the highway from Richmond all the way to Georgia. It’s horrible.

So there we are, tearing through the night. The drive was going according to plan, as there was zero traffic on the road in the middle of the night. Seemed like we were set for a straight shot, no problem. Well, as I’m sitting there driving down the highway, one of the few other cars on the road starts to weave just a little bit, but nothing crazy. I notice this, but don’t think too much of it, and go to pass him. As I go to pull past, he suddenly jerks over in to my lane, causing me to yank my wheel to the right. When I do that, the car goes in to a full spin. 

I know what you’re thinking, I must have been freaking out. Funny thing is that I wasn’t. I was kept perfectly calm, and even laughed once the car came to a stop and everything was fine. Why is that? Well, my buddy was sleeping in the passenger seat when all of this went down, so in the middle of everything going down all I could hear was, “John??? ah Ah AH AHHH AHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!”, and for whatever reason I couldn’t stop hearing his screaming like a girl. I couldn’t help but laugh.

Thankfully there was a group of truckers nearby who came and helped push my car out of the little ditch in the shoulder of the road. The rest of the trip went of without a hitch. We made it to GA that day, slept a few hours in the car, had our match, and drove right back home, because that’s what life on the road is about. But that’s another topic for another blog.

 

Thanks for reading.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

