Frank

Image

 

Two years ago today, my life was changed forever. I don’t mean that in the sense of something big and crazy happened, I mean my life changed forever. I suppose it would be more fair to say my outlook on it did, but it’s definitely more than that.

On April 28, 2012, my friend Frank Etienne was called from this planet. I had lost people close to me before, but this one was different. I can remember meeting Frank at wrestling school in 2001. Like most people that get in to that business, he had a dream. The pursuit of the dream is part of what brought us together, but we were also friends beyond just wrestling. I always say I have wrestling friends, and real life friends. Frank was definitely a real life friend. I didn’t just see him at the shows, but we hung out on a regular basis. We would hit the gym together, hit the bars, or just hang out, he was always joking and having a good time. He was a true friend.

I remember the day of his funeral like it was yesterday. I remember going in not sure what I was going to feel, react, just had no idea how I was going to handle it. I found myself not being able to feel sad, or cry, but more thinking back on the good times we had. I realized losing someone isn’t about being sad you don’t get to see them any more, but about being happy you got to experience such a greatly unique person while they were here.

I remember having seen someone write on Facebook once how they don’t understand why people would write on a deceased person’s page. “It’s not like they’re going to read it”. At first I wondered how somebody could think such a thing, but I then I though about how lucky they must be. They must not have lost anybody they wish they could see again, or say something to them one last time. There’s not a day that goes by where I don’t think about you, Frank. Although I might not be able to call you, or you might not be able to physically read this, I know you’re still here with me. Your memory lives on in my heart forever.

 

 

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

