The Amazing Gwen Stacey

The following is a review for the Amazing Spiderman 2. I will try to keep it without spoilers, but there may be some dropped along the way. In other words, read at your own risk and don’t be a jerk.

I normally try to give some time after seeing a movie to give my honest opinion about it. There are very few films that I’ve seen that have been so great that I just immediately loved and understood them, so if you ever see me write a review right after seeing something, it must have been pretty good. That’s also why I didn’t write about this after seeing it, I needed to think about it.

My first thought after leaving was that I liked the movie. It was entertaining, wasn’t too cheesy or too serious, pretty fun. After thinking about it for a bit, I would say that I would still enjoy it, but not on the level of a lot of other films. There are a few things that kind of bother me about it though.

The main story line in the Amazing Spiderman 2 revolves around Peter Parker’s struggle to keep his word to Gwen’s father, and stay away from her. Now I say main, because there are honestly like 5 or 6 different things going on here. I don’t think the amount of subplots makes the movie too jumbled or confusing, just hard to give everything a just amount of attention with so much going on. You have that situation, his research on his parents, Harry coming back, Electro, his relationship with Aunt May, and that’s just the things directly involving just Spiderman as there are other things happening as well.

I was a little nervous when I heard they were going with Electro, and saw what he looked like. After seeing the movie, he’s already one of my favorite villains in a comic book movie. The special effects they used for his powers were some of the coolest I have ever seen, and they utilized everything so well. Jamie Foxx did an awesome job as Max Dillon too, they just didn’t give him enough screen time in the role. I also would have liked to have seen more Electro, as his screen time was also pretty limited.

This is the only part where I will have a SPOILER, because it deals with how the movie ends, so SPOILERS!!!!!

 

I hated the end of the movie. I just thought it was so horrible. I read an interview with the director where he said this movie would lead straight in to the Sinister Six, but to have the very final scene of the movie be Spiderman about to fight with Rhino is so crappy. It’s not even a great cliffhanger, because you still don’t see the Sinister Six, nor is the number six even referenced. They ask Harry how many people he wants on the team, and his reply is, “however many it takes, but not too big”, or something horrible like that. Why can’t he say, “Five vials left, plus me, guess that makes six”. Sorry if I just wrote a better tease for you guys. 

Also, Gwen Stacey dies, but if you didn’t already know that, then you’re not a real fan any ways. Afterwards, he takes a few month long hiatus, and returns just in time to fight the Rhino. This all happens in about 5 minutes. Granted, Dark Knight Rises started the way Amazing Spiderman 3 should have started the way they wrote the story, but it would have been so much better to copy that than cram it in to a crappy montage. I also hate that she’s given such an epic death, but Uncle Ben always dies ten minutes after he gets his powers. I understand that’s the order of things, but damn, that’s the whole reason he decides to become a hero in the first place, and I don’t think he ever gets his just due in the movies.

 

I know this next statement might enrage some people, but I felt like this was just Twilight starring the Amazing Spiderman. It’s about two lovers who can’t be together because one is human, and one has supernatural powers. There’s even an outside evil force trying to tear them apart. At least I assume that’s what Twilight is about.

 

Again, I didn’t hate it, and would watch it in the theaters again, but only one time.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

