Such a big egoooooooo

Stay humble. It’s something that we hear from when we first start going out in to the world. While it’s definitely important to be humble, there can be a right time and place to have an ego as well. In fact, keeping it in check, and knowing when to show it or not is really the most difficult thing about the ego.

I know some people will probably disagree with me, but there are good times to have a bit of an ego. The funny thing is that a lot of the time we call that “being confident in ourselves”. Now there’s such a thing as being too confident in yourself, also. This is where the balance part comes in. If you have a hard time telling the difference, you’ll probably be labeled a jerk. If you don’t show it at the right time, you’ll probably be labeled a push over. I think that being confident in yourself isn’t about telling people what you can do, but rather showing them. I’m not the type to tell you what I’m going to do, but I’d rather show you.

There’s an unwritten rule in both wrestling and martial arts, check your ego at the door. I feel that this pertains mostly to the training side of things. When it comes competition/show time, you need to show a little of that ego. If you don’t have a confidence in yourself, then bad things are going to happen. At the same time, if you’re over confident, bad things could happen too. If you’re not cautious of the potential dangers, then you’re more susceptible to fall for them. I know that I’ve performed my best when I felt that I was going to go out and kill it, but still understood that not everything was completely in my control. 

I think the easiest way to keep your ego in check is to always be real with yourself. I try to keep myself very down to earth, and try not to let something minor really get in to my head. I realize I’ve done some cool things, but I just look at it as that. I believe I’m capable of doing some great things, but also believe I still have a lot left to achieve.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

