You running with us, or you running from us

Image

 

Most people have what they refer to as their “inner circle”. A group of people that we can share anything with the utmost confidence that it won’t get spread around, or cause a bunch of drama in our life. While that may be the case, just because they do that doesn’t mean they have your best interests at heart.

I’m not even talking about the people that become your friend with an ulterior motive. A lot of times we’ll become friends with people that seem to have our best interest in mind, but some times that changes. I used to be friends with a group of dudes like that. They were supportive of everything I did that involved their interests, but once I wanted to get in to something for myself, it was like everything changed.

This was a group of dudes that I was friends with in wrestling. They always gave me big compliments, and put me over when it came to wrestling. Once I told them I wanted to get in to MMA, their attitude changed a lot. They were supportive at first, telling me they’d come to my fights etc. However, once I started wanting to train more than do shows or train with them, they started having a crappy attitude towards it. They would tease me, the way friends do, but without consideration to how much it might have meant to me.

I’m not friends with them any more, due to a completely different matter, but I don’t think I would be friends with them now any ways. And I don’t think even due to the difference in what we do, but more due to the drive I have to be successful in whatever particular field. That’s something I struggle with a lot. It’s hard for me to tell if I’m going overboard, or if other people around me just don’t have the same goal/vision that I do. I don’t feel that I’m obsessed, but just that I have an idea of how much work it actually takes to be successful in either field. I suppose we’ll find out one way or the other.

So, you gon run with me, or from me?

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

