I think a lot of people forget what Godzilla movies were like….

I saw Godzilla yesterday, and I loved it. It was, in my opinion, a perfect throwback to the old school films. I’ve seen a lot of people complaining about the movie, mostly the lack of monster fighting. In case you didn’t already know, spoilers ahead. You’ve been warned.

I loved Godzilla movies growing up. Like most people, I thought they were so awesome. One thing I remember is that they always followed the same basic outline. Something weird is happening, scientists check it out, a monster shows up and fucks shit up, and then Godzilla shows up and defeats it saving the day. I think Gareth Edwards did a great job following that outline. I would actually say that’s exactly how it plays out. 

I also really enjoyed seeing it from the point of view of how people would react to this happening in real life. I’m sure a lot of people found this part boring, but can you imagine what it would be like if this happened? It would be insane. Seeing the reactions, and how they believe we would deal with this was pretty interesting.

The main complaint I’ve seen online has been about the lack of monster fighting. Like the title says, I think these people forgot what the old school movies were like. I already laid the outline earlier, and that’s how almost all of them went. Once the bad monster shows up, it has the upper hand on the humans for a while, which it should. The monsters in this movie did a good job causing a lot of damage, and when all hope seems lost, Godzilla comes in to save the day. That’s the way it should be. 

I would say that as long as you went in with an understanding of how Godzilla movies were, then you probably enjoyed the movie as I did. I also doubt that I was the only one who wanted to cheer when he used his radioactive breath.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

