Can’t knock the hustle

So, remember the other day when I said I didn’t like time off? I tentatively scheduled a muay thai fight for July 26. While I normally consider myself to be a MMA fighter, I’m definitely looking forward to this. I know my last fight was changed to a thai fight, but it will be nice to dedicate the whole training cycle to it. I’m definitely looking forward to the challenge.

A lot of people think that training camp means that the only things I have to worry about are going to work, and training, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. A good portion of my free time will now go towards training, and a lot of the rest will go to research, film study, that kind of stuff. I know there are a lot of people that only worry about training, but there’s so much more to it than that.

I see a lot of people post on Facebook and other social media sites looking for sponsors. I’ve never understood this approach. Granted, I’m not saying it doesn’t work, it definitely can, but you’re severely limiting yourself to such a small potential clientele. Plus I feel that if you’re already Facebook friends with someone, you can just hit them up and ask for a sponsorship. I’ll spend hours at a time on the computer looking for potential sponsors, and while I more often than not hear, “we can’t do anything for you now”, I do still get sponsors on board, but only due to the work I’m putting in searching and finding different companies. Think cold emailing doesn’t work? I got offered a fight on Tuesday, got a new gear sponsor on Wednesday.

 

Like the title says….

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

