Why every fitness article you’ve ever read has been wrong (except for this one, of course!)

Every day on social media I see somebody posting some type of fitness article. I’ve noticed it normally falls in to one of two categories, a smug type post telling you what you’re doing is wrong or a post telling you what they’re doing is right. I always think to myself, “what would make anybody think what this person is saying is gospel?”

Why do people always think that some random person is going to give them proper workout advice? It’s not like the person that wrote whatever article you read is working out with you. I can’t tell you how many times someone has suggested something, or offered advice over something they’ve read. It’s not like the person giving the advice is a medical professional, or even sports professional. Not to say that I’ve ignored everything I’ve read, but have picked what works for me and what doesn’t.

That last sentence brings me to my next point, everybody is different. It’s hilarious to me to see an article telling you that genetics and body types make a difference, but you should follow whatever their workout plan is. Well, what if your genetics and body type are different than whoever wrote that? Chances are it’s not going to work as well. I don’t understand why more people don’t suggest figuring out what works for them, and to just go with that.

Lastly, too many people are negative assholes when talking about fitness. I would say 75% of the time it’s, “this is bullshit, but this really works.” Again, everybody is different, so what works for you might not work for everyone. The most common things I’ve seen related to this involve one of two things, diet or whatever workout you choose to do. Most recently I’ve seen an article getting passed around about the gluten free diet, and it’s validity. I made the point of the gluten free diet works for my weight cuts, so I’m going to stick with it because it works for me. So save your article.

I’m not ashamed to say I’m a crossfitter. I don’t go out of my way to tell people, but that’s what I do for my sport. It’s applicable to what I do. I read an article the other day written by a former member of the Texas A&M track team about her crossfit experience(here’s the article http://www.dailydot.com/opinion/why-i-dont-do-crossfit/ ). While I understand that it takes being a high level athlete to compete in college sports, but if you know anything about crossfit then you can understand why somebody who somehow has never done a deadlift before would not have a good time. I’m not even going to go in on the fact that I don’t understand how somebody who wants to shout about being a high level athlete has never done one of the most basic full body strength building movements. Honestly, I think most people hate on crossfit simply because they’re not immediately good at it. I know I thought I was in good shape heading in to my first workout, only to get my ass kicked, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to bitch about or bash it. I’m going to work and improve on it. I guess some people’s egos won’t allow them to do that. 

Also, just to address some of the concerns in regards to what gym you attend, do some research first. Any good Crossfit gym knows it’s about getting the workout done in the shortest amount of time possible, with proper form, so as to reduce injury. 

In other words, just do your research and figure out what works for you. Don’t be lazy when it comes to your fitness.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

