You can take it personally, or as a challenge

Criticism is something that we all have to deal with at some point. Whether it’s at home, work, or through a different endeavor of ours, there will always be someone watching to tell you what you should be doing instead. I think that a lot of the time we only base the advice we take on who is giving it. I’m under the belief that you could learn something from everyone, and I’ve personally witnessed people fall short because they didn’t follow the advice of someone they didn’t respect.

I think one of the most common reactions to when we get advice from a source we don’t trust is to think, “the Hell do they know???” I know I’ve had that reaction plenty of times. I believe I mostly developed that attitude in wrestling. A lot of people involved in wrestling have a know it all attitude. That’s something that I not only noticed, but it rubbed off on me a bit too. I was never rude to anybody, but I definitely walked away from some people with that same attitude.

I can’t really point to an exact time when my attitude changed. I just know that at some point I realized to listen to everybody, and pick and choose what works. Inevitably, there will be something that you will not like about something you’re passionate about, but it’s up to you to deal with it. The thing is that a lot of the times this is pointed out by someone we perceive as being on the outside, but they’re right.

Some times we also do get criticism from a “reliable source” that we don’t exactly like. I’ve seen plenty of people get upset when this happens. I believe the reason that we get upset at that person is due to wanting to think that we do everything perfectly, or their criticism is going to force us to do something that we don’t want to. I think if you truly want to improve at anything, then you need to be willing to work on everything dealing with it, not just parts you like. It’s up to you to look at yourself and realize what you really do need to improve on, and either take them head on, or give up.

So, what am I trying to say? Listen to everybody, because you never know who could hold the key to unlocking a door that’s in your way.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

