Another year wiser

Most of us see our birthday as “our day”. I know I used to think that way. I can’t exactly explain why that’s changed over the last few years, but I know I don’t feel that way now.

I think part of it has to do with loss. Losing people in your life always puts things in better perspective for you. You realize that material things, and so many other small things don’t really matter at the end of the day. What really matters is the memories you make with your friends and family. I could receive a million dollars today, but it wouldn’t mean that much without people to share that happiness with. I’ve found myself not asking for anything specific for things lately, because they don’t mean that much to me.

If you read this and wanted to do anything for my birthday, tell someone who doesn’t know how you feel about them/what they mean to you. I see way too much negativity online these days, and feel we all need to spread a little more love around. So go out and make someone’s day today, and every day afterwards as well.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

