The best feeling

Most of us feel an array of emotions from day to day. Obviously we would like to only feel the good ones, but the negative seeps in there, and it seems like that has become the case more often than not these days. Why are people overly negative?

I think a lot of this has to do with how others view us. It seems like in this day and age everybody is obsessed with others’ opinions of them. It seems like it’s all about how you’re taken in social media, or knowing the hottest gossip on someone. So what’s the solution? It’s letting go of all of that.

Letting go is one of the best feelings to me. And I’m not just talking about letting go of negative things. I think people only associate letting go with getting over grudges, forgiving someone, righting a wrong in some way. There are so many other things we can let go of though.

Somebody somewhere is always going to have a negative opinion of you. I’m sure there are people who talk shit about me regarding both wrestling and fighting, but at the end of the day they’re not the ones in the cage or ring fighting for me. I’m doing that. So why should I care what they think? Their opinion literally has no result over the outcome, so why give that any power? The simple answer is that I don’t.

That’s not to say that I don’t listen to anybody. I listen to my coaches, and teammates because they help me improve. They have an impact on how I perform. That’s not to say that I also listen to every single thing any of them tell me, with the exception of my cornermen. One of the best pieces of advice I got was to listen to myself. Not just physically, but mentally too, and I feel that has helped me improve the most.

I’m fighting with a bunch of my teammates on a muay thai card one week from today, and I feel more than prepared. A lot of that has to do with their help, but it also has to do with knowing what I should do and not always listening to what others tell they think I should do. I expect a bunch of wins next week, because we train monsters. Can’t wait to see everybody’s performance.

If your first instinct reading this is to make a bunch of Frozen jokes, you’re the least funniest person reading this…

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

