Chances are you have no idea

I have to imagine we all know somebody who criticizes almost everything they hear about. I just know that I see it all the time, and more often than not it’s by somebody who really has no clue what they’re talking about, or at least has no clue what it’s like to be in a certain situation. I think the two things I feel this pertains to the most are sports, and politics. Everybody thinks they can do a better job for some reason. I’m definitely not in to politics, so I’ll stick to sports on this, but I think it relates to both(Unless you already know what it’s like to be President).

If you’re a male from America, chances are you watched the Super Bowl. I understand football isn’t for everyone, so I don’t really care if you like it or not, but I’m sure you heard about the end of the game this year. Here’s an important picture to help me illustrate my point.

super bowl

^That picture is of the last play of the game. While most everybody would have expected the Seahawks to run the ball, myself included, they decided to try and throw for the winning touchdown. Wilson ended up throwing an INT which cost them the game, and also led to everybody with a social networking account to talk about how dumb the play is. So, why the picture? Because it wasn’t a dumb play by Seattle as much as it was a great play by the defender. The guy who intercepted the ball is the one standing about two yards from the goal line when Wilson had his arm cocked back.

You would think people would give him credit, right? Well, you’d be wrong. Everybody immediately went to talk about how dumb the offense was, and how they couldn’t believe anybody would call that. The fact of the matter is that you can never understand what it’s like to be in that situation. Add in the fact that there are only 20 seconds left, and you only have one timeout, and it becomes a game of strategy. There are so many different factors to take in to consideration when it comes to athletic endeavors, but how would you know if you’ve never done them? How would you know what it takes at this level if you’ve never been there?

I can admit that I’ve done this in the past, but I think it’s been a while since I have. I see people talk like this about fighting all the time, and it has always seemed laughable to me. I always thought, “How could you know what that’s like at all, if you’ve never stepped in to a cage and fought someone?”, but how could I know what any of these other people have been through if I haven’t done it myself?

Let’s start thinking before we criticize, rather than pile on just because it’s popular.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

