Who Am I

It’s funny to me that in this day and age of social media, which to me is the height of egotism, that so many people don’t seem to know who they are. What I mean by that is there seem to be a lot of people who let the popular opinion of social media overtake their own thoughts and beliefs in the sake of having people agree with them or approve of whatever it is that they’re doing. If there’s one thing I’ve found in life, it’s that that is the fastest way to make sure that you’re unhappy/unsatisfied. The court of public opinion doesn’t really give a damn about who you really are. Some people will always question or doubt what you’re doing before giving you props for even trying.

I used to think that I needed support from or to have certain people in my life, but I’ve since realized that while I may want it, I certainly don’t need it. At the end of the day, I’m the only person I have to worry about being satisfied. None of those people are at my home for me, so what they think may be best for me honestly doesn’t matter to me. That’s not to say that I don’t take their input in to consideration, but when it comes to deciding what’s best for me, only I can really make that determination.

One thing I do on a regular basis is ask myself a few questions:

Am I being who I want to be?

Am I living up to my own standards?

Am I heading in the direction that I want to be headed?

I think asking myself these questions has been the biggest help in regards to me finding my own happiness. It’s hard not to get swept up in what everybody else thinks is the right thing to do, but I’m always sure to ask myself if what I’m going to do is going to benefit everybody involved, especially if it is something that involves solely myself. I’m not one to tell other people how to live, but I think we’d all be a little happier if we all did that more often.

 

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

