You Know Who Asks For Unsolicited Advice?

Nobody, but I still see people giving it all the time. Whether it’s people telling each other what a better workout is, what kind of diet they should be on, or even just how people should live their life. I’ve also noticed a common pattern with a lot of these people, they never ask what the person they’re instructing wants to get out of whatever it is they might be discussing, or even what other factors may be effecting something.

The easiest thing for me to relate this to is the fitness world. People that act like experts on this are hilarious to me. If the first thing someone says when talking about fitness aren’t what your goals are or what you want to accomplish doing something, that’s the first warning sign that they don’t comprehend the simplest fact which is that everybody is different. There is no one size fits all diet. Not even just because we’re all genetically different, but each sport requires differences too. My diet isn’t going to be that of a football player, bodybuilder, or pro golfer. Those are all completely different things from what I do, but people will still try to make a comparison. My diet and training regiment are 100% built around me and making myself a better athlete while maintaining a target weight. People will still question what I do even though I literally have results I can show them that I’m doing what I’ve set out to accomplish. At the same time, I’m not delusional enough to think that my diet and workout regimen would work for every athlete. When people ask me for diet advice, I tell them to figure out what will work best for them. I think it’s really the only right way to do it, because again, we’re all built differently.

Of course, this isn’t the only thing this applies to. The most unsolicited advice I used to get had to do with life choices. These can be the hardest ones to ignore. In my experience, they usually come from people under the idea that they want what is best for us. Well, how can someone know what’s best for you if they don’t really even know the whole situation? I’m far from perfect, and can tell you first hand that this is a hard trap not to fall in to. I’ve listened to a lot of people about things based on the advice they had given me that I ended up regretting in the long run. That’s not to say that I’m stuck on them, but I definitely learned some valuable lessons about who to take advice from.

I will say that I think the current time period has a lot to do with it. People don’t feel they have to do extensive research on things to be an expert any more. They can just pull their Google machine out of their pocket and find something out. The problem with that is if your point isn’t valid to the argument, then you just look like a doofus who wants to have their voice heard. Maybe try some encouraging words instead of trying to correct people on what they’re doing all the time.

At the end of the day, I’ll take peoples’ advice in to account, but I have to figure out and do what’s best for me. These types of people generally aren’t there for me when I need them any way, so why should I listen to them or seek their approval in the first place?

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

