Everybody is Somebody

No, this isn’t going to be about how everybody is special, and can do anything they want. Instead it’s going to be about something I think a lot of us have forgotten, the fact that everybody is a person, and has their own perspectives, life experiences, and feelings. Trust me, I already know there are people saying, “well, duh”, but how often do you actually think about that?

Most people who read these will probably form the opinion that I hate social media. I would say that’s half right. I think it can be good and obviously bad. One thing that I think it’s made us forget about is our interpersonal connections with each other. It seems so easy to put your opinion out there in writing without a second thought to how other people might react. There also seems to be a common theme in the explanations from the people that I see do this regularly. It’s either their objective view, or they’re trying to help, or they just want to make a joke. Hey, maybe try not being an asshole? And what I mean when I say that is try putting yourself in the other person’s shoes for a minute. How would you feel if somebody came along and critiqued or made fun of something that was important to you? Now imagine if it was somebody who is supposed to be your friend. You’d probably start to not like that person, and start to build animosity towards them at some point.

Now this doesn’t just apply to personal situations. Obviously we’ve all seen the increase in “conversations” about social issues on social media. Personally, I hate it. I was always taught growing up that you don’t openly discuss religion and politics, but clearly I was in the minority. That being said, I have noticed a disturbing trend of people leaving very insensitive comments about things without any thought whatsoever to who they consider their friends. I know that I have a lot of friends with different life experiences. I also know there are some that I don’t know what all of those are. If someone I know is posting about a social issue, I normally assume it means something to them, so I’m not going to bash it out of RESPECT to my friend. It doesn’t matter if I agree with it or not, everybody is entitled to their own opinion, and I don’t feel the need to point out everything I don’t agree with.

I know some people get enjoyment out of “trolling” their friends, but that’s just another term for being an asshole. If you like getting under peoples’ skin, why don’t you try talking shit to their face? I’ve seen too many cowards who have no problem talking shit online, but try to be friendly and diplomatic when in person. In my opinion, the time for diplomacy is over. Don’t write a check with your mouth your ass can’t cash.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

