Hey, Maybe Try Doing Something First

We all know somebody who loves talking about what they’re going to do in life. They can’t stop talking about “their next big move”, or some huge event they have coming on the horizon every time they see you. I’ve noticed a common thing with a lot of these types of people though, the things they talk about never seem to come to fruition.

Some times I wonder why that happens. Now, of course there are times where things just don’t go as planned. That happens to everybody, but I also feel that that situation is somewhat uncommon. Most of the people that I know won’t post about a promotion, moving, or anything of that nature until it’s already done and they’re put in their place. The types of people I’m talking about are the ones who never have things go their way. The ones that have daily updates of, “I have this going on, and that going on”, then the next time they update you it’s, “Oh, that didn’t work out because of X”. We all know X is a lame excuse. Most of the time I think these people haven’t even started the process of what they intend to do, and that is the most mind boggling thing of all to me. That would be like me saying, “Hey guys, I’m going to be an Oscar award winning actor!”, even though I’ve never acted a day in my life. I would never make that statement and expect people to believe it. While that example is a little over the top, I do see people ask for a rallying cry to do things they haven’t even attempted to do.

Which brings me to my next point, stop asking for credit and pats on the back for things you haven’t done, or for doing every day things everybody does. These people kind of fall under the first category, but a little different. They’ll ask people to support them or cheer them on at the start of a project. It’s like they need their own personal cheerleaders to get them through their day. Trust me when I say that nobody wants to do that. Nobody wants to be your personal cheerleader. There may be people trying to do the same thing or something similar as you, who may want someone to go through it with, but nobody wants to just sit on the sidelines cheering you on. I’ve also noticed that these people normally can’t be bothered to offer supporting comments or words of encouragement to others. Maybe that’s why people aren’t so quick to rally behind you.

So, what’s the point of this other than to vent some? None really lol. But as I pointed out in my blog last week, I don’t think enough people take a look at and analyze themselves the same way they do others. So maybe this will help some people open their eyes, but I doubt it.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

