Formerly My Own Worst Critic

I used to think that we should always be hardest on ourselves when it came to things. I would always take things other people said in to consideration, but at the end of the day I always broke myself down the most and was the hardest on myself for things. It took me a while to realize that’s actually a quick way to become your own worst enemy.

Before I really get in to this, I’ll say that the only fighter that I really watch is myself. I still look for things I can improve on in my fights, training sessions, and workouts. I need to identify these things myself so that I can formulate a plan to improve on them. This is more about criticizing myself and making myself feel bad about those things. I know that I’m not the only one who has done this, and there are people I know who most likely do it themselves. I think it’s hard not to break yourself down that way. When you’re constantly hearing how things should be done from outside sources, it tends to shape the way you think. When I think about when I used to do this, I know I never thought what I did was good enough. Even if I went and performed well, I would never be satisfied. That’s not a good frame of mind to be in. While I know I can still improve on everything I also need to give credit where it’s due, and be sure not to pile on myself when things went well.

Once I realized I was stuck in this thought pattern, I committed myself to changing it. While I still watch myself, and identify the things I still need to work on, I also make note of the things I do well and should continue to do. I think a lot of the time our thought process ends up doing us in at the end. We get too stuck on whether or not we’ll be good enough that we fail to realize that maybe we already are. That’s the biggest thing I think I’ve taken away from most of my recent self analysis. When it comes to what I do, my opinion of myself is what matters the most. So why should it be anything but positive? I can say that things have only gotten better for me personally since I became more worried about my own opinion of myself than what literally anybody else thinks about me. I’ll let everybody else worry about everybody else, and just keep worrying about improving myself.

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

