Let’s Stop Empowering Cowards

I never thought I’d write a blog based off a new social media website starting up, but here we are. I’m sure most people have heard of Sarahah by now, but in case you haven’t I’ll sum it up real quick. It’s a social media tool where people can anonymously leave other people messages. First of all, I’m pretty sure that’s what Twitter mostly already is. Secondly, why in the world would anybody want to do this?

I already know people will say, “it’s all in good fun”. This is the most ass backwards thing ever. I will assume people who say this have never been on the internet before. Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve seen people who have had nice things said about them on this thing, but you know they’re not posting all of the negative messages they get. Even if they are, of course accompanied by some snarky remark about how they don’t care about what the person has to say, it doesn’t accomplish anything. This person already doesn’t have to courage to say these things to you, so if you think they’re sitting there at their keyboard crying in anguish at your comeback, you’re only fooling yourself. A lot of people will take any chance they can to knock your confidence/self esteem, and all this is doing is giving them another chance at that.

A lot of people already give too much headspace and concern to what others think/say about them. I know I’ve said this before, but if somebody isn’t going to be there for you at the end of the day, then what they think is irrelevant. I know for one that I used to let social media distract me in my day to day life. I would let something somebody may have said to or about me online ruin my day. It sounds silly, but it happens. One of the biggest things that helped me get over that was actually deleting my social media pages for about a month or so. I came to realize how little the things happened on there mattered. It doesn’t matter if people give me likes, encouraging comments, hate, or have bad things to say about me. I still have to wake up and go to work to get to where I want to be myself every day, so it really doesn’t matter at all to me if people want to support me or not. I plan on making it regardless of who has my back.

So nah, don’t think I’ll be signing up for Sarahah

About johnkermon

Just a dude pretending to be a dude, pretending to be another dude.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

